Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Community Search
News & Press: Life Science Washington News

Life Science Washington Announces 2018 Inductees into the Washington Life Science Hall of Fame

Sunday, March 25, 2018  
Posted by: Katy Tollefson
Share |

Life Science Washington Announces 2018 Inductees into the Washington Life Science Hall of Fame

Life science industry veterans Alan Frazier, Dr. Denise Galloway, Dr. Leland Hartwell and Dr. Christopher Porter to be honored during Life Science Innovation Northwest

Life Science Washington today announced its 2018 inductees into the Washington Life Science Hall of Fame, which recognizes innovative leaders and industry pioneers in Washington state who have made significant contributions to the life sciences. The recipients will be honored at a special luncheon March 28 during Life Science Innovation Northwest, the largest annual life science conference in the Pacific Northwest.

“We are delighted to honor these exceptional leaders with induction into the Washington Life Science Hall of Fame,” said Leslie Alexandre, DrPH, President and CEO of Life Science Washington. “Throughout their careers, these individuals have made extraordinary contributions to the life sciences, spanning basic science research through the commercialization of life-saving technologies. Washington state owes them a debt of gratitude for the thriving life science industry their work has helped create.”

Former Governor Christine Gregoire will accept her 2017 Washington Life Science Hall of Fame award during the ceremony and provide an update on her work as CEO of Challenge Seattle, a private sector initiative taking on the big challenges our region must address to continue growing, transforming, and thriving, while maintaining our quality of life.

The 2018 Hall of Fame inductees include:

Alan Frazier
Founder and Chairman, Frazier Healthcare Partners

Mr. Frazier has led Frazier Healthcare Partners in raising nine institutional funds and managing nearly $3.0 billion in assets. During his 25 years as the company’s Managing Partner and Chairman, he’s worked with entrepreneurs to build many leading healthcare companies, among them Array (NASDAQ: ARRY), Tularik (acquired by Amgen), Rigel (NASDAQ: RIGL), CV Therapeutics (acquired by Gilead), VIVUS (NASDAQ: VVUS), Corixa (acquired by GSK), and Cadence (acquired by Mallinckrodt). He currently sits on the boards of Abode Healthcare and Orthotic Holdings.

Before founding Frazier, he was integrally involved in growing several successful healthcare companies into national prominence, including Immunex Corporation. Later, he served as the Senior Financial Advisor and CFO of Affymax and its spin-out Affymetrix. Before Immunex, Mr. Frazier was head of the Emerging Business Practice and co-head of the Technology Practice for the Seattle office of Arthur Young & Company (now, Ernst & Young).

Dr. Denise A. Galloway

Director, Pathogen-Associated Malignancies Integrated Research Center, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, and Research Professor, Departments of Microbiology, Pathology & Global Health, University of Washington

Dr. Galloway’s Lab studies the mechanisms by which human papillomaviruses contribute to cancer, with an emphasis on types most likely to progress to cervical cancer. Galloway and colleagues work to understand the natural history of genital HPV infections and why only a small subset of women infected with high-risk HPVs develop cancer. Her work has been instrumental in developing the HPV vaccines in use today.

As Director of the Fred Hutch Pathogen-Associated Malignancies Integrated Research Center, Galloway brings together Hutch experts in infectious diseases, host-pathogen interactions, cancer biology, immunology, global oncology and immunotherapy to understand, treat and prevent the cancers linked to infectious agents. She is an elected member of the American Academy of Microbiology and the American Association for the Advancement of Science, a recipient of a Fred Hutch 40th Anniversary Endowed Chair and serves on the National Cancer Institute (NCI) Board of Scientific Counselors.

Dr. Leland Hartwell

Professor, Center for Sustainable Health, Arizona State University and Former President and Director Emeritus, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center

Dr. Hartwell’s pioneering research has had a major influence on our understanding of cancer and the therapeutic strategies used to treat diseases caused by uncontrolled cell growth. He was awarded the 2001 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine. By identifying "checkpoint" genes that determine whether a cell is dividing normally, Hartwell provided important clues to cancer, which arises from abnormal, uncontrolled cell growth.
From 1997-2010 Hartwell was President and Director of the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center. During that period The Hutch completed its expansion and consolidation to the South Lake Union campus and formed the Seattle Cancer Care Alliance in partnership with the University of Washington and Seattle Children’s Hospital. He joined the faculty of the Arizona State University in 2010 where he has appointments in the Schools of Education, Biomedical Engineering, and Sustainability.

Dr. Christopher H. Porter
Commercialization Consultant, Life Science Washington Institute and CEO, Medical Genesis

For the past seven years, Dr. Porter has served as a Commercialization Consultant for Life Science Washington and Life Science Washington Institute, advising over 400 life science startups in this role. He was instrumental in setting up the Washington Innovation Mentoring (WIN) program and continues to be an active mentor. He has also been an avid volunteer for WINGS, a non-profit angel network that facilitates seed and early stage investments for medical technology companies in the Pacific Northwest.

Dr. Porter is also CEO of Medical Genesis, a consulting firm and medical device incubator. Throughout his career, he has been a CEO and/or board member of numerous public and private companies. He founded, invented products for, and contributed heavily to the success of numerous life science companies. He has been influential in introducing over 30 medical products and holds 48 US patents.

Life Science Washington created the Washington Life Science Hall of Fame in 2016 to honor industry leaders and pioneers in the field. Hall of Fame inductees from 2016 and 2017 include:
• Donald W. Baker
• Karl William Edmark, MD
• Steven Gilles, PhD
• Christine Gregoire, JD
• Leroy Hood, MD, PhD
• Lee Huntsman, PhD
• A. Bruce Montgomery, MD
• H. Stewart Parker
• E. Donnall Thomas, MD and Dorothy “Dottie” Thomas



Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal