Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Community Search
News & Press: Life Science Washington News

Life Science Washington Welcomes New Directors and Executive Committee Members

Thursday, December 14, 2017   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Colleen Toomey
Share |


For Immediate Release


Contact: Colleen Toomey, Life Science Washington

(206) 456-9572,



Life Science Washington Welcomes New Directors and Executive Committee Members

Executives from Juno Therapeutics, Frazier Healthcare Partners, and Fred Hutch among new members 



SEATTLE – December 15, 2017 Life Science Washington, the state’s life science trade association, announced it will welcome seven new board members in 2018, along with new leadership on the Executive Committee.  


Caitlin Cameron, Chair & CEO of OtoNexus Medical Technologies and current Executive Committee member, will serve as board chair for 2018-2019. She succeeds Martin Simonetti, who is departing from the board after a long tenure of leadership and volunteer service.


The Executive Committee will also welcome Jan Beck, Vice President and Site Head at Novo Nordisk Research Center Seattle, Inc.; Gustavo Mahler, PhD, President & Global CEO of CMC Biologics; Ron Myers, CEO of Nexgenia Inc.; and Jens Quistgaard, PhD, Chairman of Mirabilis Medica. All four currently serve on the board.


New Life Science Washington board members are:


  • Robin Andrulevich, Senior Vice President of People, Juno Therapeutics
  • Alice Chen, PhD, Vice President, Accelerator Corporation
  • Mike Gallatin, Senior Advisor, Frazier Healthcare Partners
  • Mitchell Parrish, JD, RAC, CIP, Vice President, Legal & Regulatory Affairs, Kinetiq
  • Jennifer Olsen, CEO, Resourceful HR
  • Niki Robinson, PhD, Vice President of Business Development & Strategy, Fred Hutch
  • Nancy Whiting, PharmD, BCOP, Senior Vice President, Global Medical Affairs, Seattle Genetics, Inc.


“I am delighted to welcome such a talented and deeply respected group of leaders to our board,” said Dr. Leslie Alexandre, President & CEO of Life Science Washington.


 “Their willingness to serve demonstrates their commitment to helping build a vibrant life science ecosystem across Washington. They also bring important expertise directly relevant to our new strategic initiatives.” 



 2018 Executive Committee Members:


  • Caitlin Cameron, Board Chair, Chair & CEO, OtoNexus Medical Technologies
  • Leslie Alexandre, DrPH, Board Secretary, President & CEO, Life Science Washington
  • Margaret McCormick, PhD, Board Treasurer, Chief Administrative Officer, Benaroya Research Institute
  • Jan Beck, Vice President & Site Head, Novo Nordisk Research Center Seattle, Inc.
  • Ralph Derrickson, Senior Vice President, Strategy and Corporate Development, Avizia, Inc.
  • Stephen M. Graham, Partner, Fenwick & West LLP
  • Brad Gray, President & CEO, nanoString Technologies, Inc.
  • Oren Lang-Furr, Partner, EY
  • Gustavo Mahler, PhD, President & Global CEO, CMC Biologics
  • Ron Myers, M.S, J.D., CEO, Nexgenia Inc.
  • Erik Nilsson, CEO, Deurion, LLC
  • Jens U. Quistgaard, PhD, Chairman, Mirabilis Medica
  • Francisco R. Velázquez, M.D., S.M.


2018 Board of Directors includes all members of the Executive Committee and:


  • Robin Andrulevich, Senior Vice President, People, Juno Therapeutics
  • Susan Ashe, Executive Director, Health Sciences & Services Authority
  • Charles V. Baltic III, Managing Director, Co-Head of Life Sciences, Needham & Company, LLC
  • Bill Brady, President, Brady & Company
  • Alice Chen, PhD, Vice President, Accelerator Corporation
  • Tom Clement, President & CEO, Aqueduct Critical Care
  • John Cox, Senior Vice President-Seattle, Alexandria Real Estate Equities, Inc.
  • Helga Ding, DDS, MBA, MHA, Managing Director, Kaiser Permanente Washington Health Research Institute
  • Sonya F. Erickson, Partner, Cooley LLP
  • Teresa Foy, PhD, Executive Director, Site Head, Celgene
  • Mike Gallatin, Senior Advisor, Frazier Healthcare Partners
  • James B. Hendricks, PhD, President, Seattle Children’s Research Institute
  • Charlotte Hubbert, PhD, Partner – Gates Foundation Venture Capital, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation
  • Leen Kawas, PharmD & PhD, President & CEO, M3 Biotechnology
  • Jary J. Krauser, CEO, StratusG Consulting
  • Homer Lane, Executive Director & CFO, Benaroya Research Insititute 
  • Tim Martin, Director, United States Government Affairs, Amgen
  • Jennifer Olsen, CEO, Resourceful HR
  • Robert W. Overell, PhD, President & CEO, PhaseRx, Inc.
  • Mitchell Parrish, JD, RAC, CIP, Vice President, Legal & Regulatory Affairs, Kinetiq
  • Rhonda Rhyne, President & CEO, Prevencio, Inc. 
  • Ken Roberts, PhD, Vice Dean of Academic and Community Partnerships, Elson S. Floyd College of Medicine, Washington State University
  • Chad Robins, CEO, Adaptive Biotechnologies
  • Niki Robinson, Vice President of Industry Relations & Business Development, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
  • Mike Ruhl, Vice President, Seattle Market Lead, BioMed Realty & Trust
  • Randy Schatzman, CEO, Alder BioPharmaceuticals, Inc.
  • Lee Schindler, Partner, Perkins Coie, LLP
  • Andrew T. Serafini, PhD, Partner, Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton LLP
  • Gregory Sessler, President & CEO, Olympus Respiratory America


About Life Science Washington

Life Science Washington is an independent, non-profit 501(c)(6) trade association whose mission is to stimulate life science innovation, job creation and ecosystem vibrancy across Washington state through engagement, collaboration, promotion, and advocacy. Serving more than 500 members, Life Science Washington brings together research institutions, investors and innovators to grow the state’s life science economy. More information can be found at



Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal